Bad side Ayesha battle plan

I’m a sinner. I have always tried to get my Ayesha on my good side. To make matters worse, once I had it, I just kept abusing that side and completely neglecting the other one. My bad side is so neglected I can barely do a Butterfly on it, let alone get into an Ayesha.

I have long made a promise to work on my bad side, and so far I came along nicely. Before I had to take time off training I could perform spins, deadlift into inverts, and do some intermediate moves just as nicely on either side. I’m going to go back to poling soon, and I’ve decided it’s time to tackle The Big One. The good news are that I have the knowledge and hindsight wisdom from my good side practice.

Here’s my plan:

  1. Butterfly – this basic but important exercise will teach me to align my body vertically and inverted and work on the push-pull action while my leg grip will take part of the weight off and keep me more stable.
  2. Inverted D – after my body will get used to the position and my arms will be conditioned to hold big part of my body weight, this trick will let me learn to shift my hips back and my weight away from the pole. The ankles on the pole will keep me stable, but the weight my arm will have to bear will increase.
  3. Inverted D to Ayesha – When I’ll feel confident in the Inverted D, it would mean that my arms gained enough strength to start attempting the Ayesha. The transition from Inverted D to Ayesha is pretty straight forward, so if I’m careful it would be a matter of balance and some strength and I’ll get my Ayesha.
  4. Ayesha to Ayesha leg variations – Statically holding Ayesha with straddle legs it not my final goal. I would like, sometime in the future, to deadlift into it. Moving around with the same hand grip is a great way to strengthen the arms, core and back, and teach the body to remain balanced in movement. Possible variations:
    • Straight Edge
    • Jackknife
    • Split
    • Backbend
    • Passe legs
    • Attitude legs
  5. Hangman – Holding the body upright with the same grip requires a different set of strengths, and this is a good time to start practicing this hold. It will also help the body build the strength needed in the beginning of a Twisted Grip Handspring. And TG airwalks look amazing.
  6. Twisted Grip Handspring – At this point the arms should be strong enough to hold all the weight in various positions and through various movement. It’s probably okay to start trying to handspring into Ayesha from the ground. It’s not a blocker to the next steps though.
  7. Ayesha to Iron X – Getting horizontal is the most challenging variation for this hold. The body mass moves away from the pole, so I’ll need even more strength to hold it. Luckily, this can be trained gradually. Getting into any leg variation and slowly lowering the torso until you can barely hold it and get back up will get me there lower and lower and at some point I’ll be able to get into an actual Iron X and hold it.
If I successfully complete all this, I’ll get my bad side to match my good side right before the hiatus. From here on it would be trail and error on my journey towards a Twisted Grip Deadlift. I also plan to film my progress so it’s going to be fun all around. I have two more weeks before I can go back to training, can’t wait!
Leave a Reply

